The Federal Airports Authority of Nigeria (FAAN) has announced the introduction of E-tags for entry into Nigeria’s 24 federal airports.

During the recent Federal Executive Council (FEC) meetings on Monday and Tuesday, 21 new policies and projects were approved to boost the economy, attract investments, and improve business operations in Nigeria.

Among these decisions is a new mandate requiring all users of federal airports to pay tolls at the gates. This policy applies to everyone, including the President and Vice President, without exceptions.

FAAN’s public announcement confirms that the E-tag system aligns with a presidential directive approved at the latest FEC meeting.

This directive mandates that all airport users must pay tolls at the entry gates. This policy comes amid economic challenges following the removal of subsidies and the floating of the naira, which have prompted the Nigeria Labour Congress to demand a higher minimum wage, causing tensions with the government.

According to FAAN, motorists without E-tags will still have the option to pay cash at the access gates, but those who do not comply will be denied entry. FAAN’s statement also provides details on where to obtain E-tags at the international airports in Lagos and Abuja.

In Lagos, at Murtala Muhammed International Airport, E-tags can be acquired at the Office of the Head of Department of Commercial Operations, Terminal 1, 5th floor, or by calling 08033713796 or 08023546030. In Abuja, at Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport, E-tags are available at the HOD Commercial Office at the General Aviation Terminal, or by calling 08034633527 or 08137561615.