Canada has expanded its visa-free entry program to include travelers from Morocco and Seychelles. But it is surprising that Nigeria is not included on the list.

New Countries in Canada’s Visa-Free Entry by Air Program:


  • Morocco
  • Seychelles


  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • St. Lucia
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • St. Kitts and Nevis
  • Panama
  • Argentina
  • Costa Rica
  • Uruguay
  • St. Vincent and the Grenadines


  • Thailand
  • Philippines

Canada aims to strengthen its connections with Africa by including Morocco and Seychelles in their travel plans. Immigration Minister Sean Fraser has discussed expanding the Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA) program, making it easier for people from these countries to visit Canada for leisure or business.

Fraser emphasized that travelers from these countries will enjoy more affordable and convenient trips. He highlighted that increasing the number of visa-free countries enhances travel, tourism, and business, and improve relationships with these 13 nations globally.

Fraser explained, “The visa exemptions for these ‘known travelers’ from these countries can lead to significant savings.”

Current Visa and eTA Costs:

  • Visitor visa: $100 per person, $500 for a family of five or more.
  • eTA: $7 per person, valid for up to five years.

Canada’s Express Entry Visa for Certain Jobs as listed below:

  • Canada has prioritized certain professions for the Express Entry visa and the are:
    • Payroll administrators
    • Dental assistants and dental laboratory assistants
    • Nurse aides, orderlies, and patient service associates
    • Pharmacy technical assistants and pharmacy assistants
    • Elementary and secondary school teacher assistants
    • Sheriffs and bailiffs 
    • Correctional service officers 
    • By-law enforcement and other regulatory officers 
    • Estheticians, electrologists, and related occupations 
    • Residential and commercial installers and servicers 
    • Pest controllers and fumigators 
    • Other repairers and servicers 
    • Transport truck drivers 
    • Bus drivers, subway operators, and other transit operators
    • Heavy equipment operators
    • Aircraft assemblers and aircraft assembly inspectors.
  • The goal is to address job market needs and fill vacancies in these fields.
  • Skilled foreign workers in these priority areas have a better chance of obtaining a visa through the Express Entry system.

Canada’s eTA Program Expands to More Countries:

Canada has simplified travel for citizens from 13 additional countries by expanding its eTA program.

Understanding the eTA:

    • The Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA) is a digital travel document.
    • Most travelers who don’t need a visa for Canada must have an eTA to fly there.
    • The eTA application allows Canadian officials to screen travelers before they arrive.
    • Applying costs CAN$7, and most applications are approved quickly.
    • Requirements: passport, credit card, email, and internet access.

    The Growth of the eTA Program:

      • Canada began expanding the eTA program in April 2017.
      • Initially included travelers from Brazil, Bulgaria, and Romania who met specific conditions.
      • Later, visa requirements were lifted for all Bulgarians and Romanians.
      • Eligible Brazilians can still visit Canada without a visa.
      • The program now includes 13 additional countries.

      Impact on Tourism:

        • Canada expects an additional 200,000 visitors from these 13 countries within a year.
        • This represents a 20% increase in tourism from these regions.
        • Over ten years, these additional visitors could generate nearly $160 million in revenue.

        Canada’s expansion of the visa-free entry program reflects its commitment to improve international connections and economic growth through increased travel and tourism.